According to the official source, the state government had put forward the names of senior most IAS officials including GSG Ayyaangar (1987 batch), Rakesh Sarwal (1988 batch) and Lokranjan (1989 batch) to the election commission to choose a CEO from but the EC authority wrote back to the state government to send names of junior officials from 1990 batch onwards.

Responding to the EC’s directive the state government has sent three more names of officers, including Sriram Taranikant (1992 batch), B.K. Sahu (1992 batch) and that of Sri Santanu (1997 batch). But the election commission (EC) is yet to take a final decision on the issue.

This has become a matter of concern for the state government as they want an officer who is fair and impartial and can resist unethical pressure from the BJP led central government which is expected to be hyper-active at the time of the next assembly polls.